Summer Reading

Thought you might like to see what I’m reading this summer! 

 

The first couple of books are very interesting.  Trent doesn’t have time to read, so I am highlighting some key points for him.   Thankfully it is easy reading, because I am finding that I only have a minute here and then another minute there for this.    I can easily read a page or two, put it down for a bit, and pick it up later.  

 

Image

 

 

 

ImageImage

 

 

 

The next two books are more for me, and how to daily interact with Chinese, Indian, and Malay.  I had no idea how much I didn’t know!   These books go into great detail, like what to wear to a wedding or funeral, how to hold chopsticks without offending, dress,  business meals, festivals, visiting at a Chinese or Malaysian home, and table etiquette.  

I may never eat these foods, but now I know the difference between Cantonese, Hunan, Hokkien, Shantung/Beijing, Szechuan, Hainanses, Hakka, Shanghainese, Teochew, and Tim Sum dishes!    “Ching”  (Eat & Enjoy!)

Image

 

 

Since not one of us Blinkmans eat fish, we are definitely going to struggle when it comes to eating, as this is the main staple for the Chinese.  The Indians & Malay though … now that is a different story.  Rice & bread are the principal items at an Indian meal.  Their food is hot curry, coconut, chili, yogurt, and spices.   Rice is also one of the main foods for the Malaysian people too, but also coconut, chili, spicy meat & fish & vegetable.   Satay is the most famous and popular Malay dish.  This is meat marinated in a spicy mixture, threaded on skewers and barbecued.  The sticks of cooked satay are dipped in spicy peanut sauce before being eaten with sliced cucumber, raw onion,  and ketupat (a square piece of steamed rice cake wrapped in coconut leaves).   This sounds so delicious to me!!

 

 

 

 

 

Image

 

Because we only have two years in Asia, I plan to take every opportunity to travel and see all that we can see.  I have been told that this next school year “has a bumper crop of long weekends”  and that I should start planning now for some fun three day excisions.  First on my list?  Bali, Fiji, Australia, Cambodia.  Then Thailand, China, Bora Bora, New Zealand.  Should I keep going?  There is soooo much to see and do, it is a bit overwhelming.  And so exciting!!

 

ImageImage

 

And there you go … my summer reading books.   

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Is July your departure date? You are preparing to maximize your experience! So many new things to master and experience. I enjoy reading your posts.
    Love,
    Aunt Vera

    • Hi Aunt Vera! We are scheduled to leave the USA on August 6th. Trent has been in Asia since the end of April, and he is due to get home on July 18th … the kids and I are soooo excited to see him!! Eleven straight weeks is just too long.

Leave a Reply

